UPDATED with Refund: The Megabus Saga Continues!

UPDATE: Megabus refunded my purchase. Details below.

Last week I posted about my experience with Megabus, and shared an open letter I’d written to them. After an initial canned response, I eventually got contact from Anna Lavin, their Customer Service Manager. The continued correspondence and possible resolution is below:

Dear Kevin,

This is in response to your correspondence posted on Twitter regarding your travel with Megabus on the 11:10 New York to Boston on Wednesday 11/23/11.

I am not going to in any way attempt to justify the treatment described in your correspondence. It is unacceptable and not reflective of the resource we put into training our staff to deliver updates on service and I am very sorry for the experience. The entire incident will be reviewed with all concerned to prevent anyone else from going through the same scenario. Your reporting of the incident goes a long way to helping me do this. I hope you will accept my apologies for the distress caused. As a token of my appreciation, I want you to have your next round-trip on us. If you send me the details of an available trip you would like to take, I will arrange your reservation numbers by return.

Sincerely,
Anna

_______________________

Anna Lavin
Customer Service Manager
Megabus.com, LLC
349 1st Street
Elizabeth, NJ 07206
908-354-3330
Extension #301

My Response:

Anna,

Thank you for your response. I have weighed this matter carefully and cannot, in good conscience, accept your offer of comp tickets. While I do wish you well in improving service for future Megabus customers, I will not be among them. I have no desire to use your service again.

If a refund is available, I would greatly appreciate it. I still believe that a refund and proper apology would be a strong good faith gesture for all of the passengers of the 11:10 New York to Boston from Wednesday 11/23/11.

Hundreds of people have read my open letter to Megabus. I intend to post a follow-up on how you’ve handled this matter, since it’s only fair to note that somebody in the company has a sense of professional customer service. If refunds and apologies are available for the customers on the bus in question, I will be sure that my readers are well aware of the efforts made by Megabus to rectify this matter.

If a refund is not available, I believe our discussion is at an end.

Best regards,
Kevin Talbot
The Conclusion:

I haven’t heard back from Anna since my response, so as it stands I’m assuming the matter is finished with me refusing the comp tickets. Refunds do not seem to be in their vocabulary. That said, if you have had a similar experience with Megabus and are willing to ride with them again, I encourage you to reach out directly to Anna Lavin at the phone number above or at her email address, Anna.Lavin@coachusa.com. I’m sure she would be more than happy to extend the offer of free travel to you for your troubles.

If there is any further correspondence, I will be sure to update the blog.

 

Update 12/07/11

To their credit, a day after this post went live, I received further correspondence from Megabus. I have included the letter below.

 

 

Dear Kevin,

I have refunded your account as a gesture of goodwill. Your decision not to use Megabus again speaks volumes of your experience and I sincerely regret and apologize for the distress caused. The offer of a complimentary trip remains should you wish to give me the opportunity to prove your experience on Megabus is not a typical one. We have enjoyed excellent reliability on the New York-Boston corridor since its inception over 3 years ago and I am sorry that we have let you down.

Refund requests are dealt with on a case by case basis as there are variables to consider. I’d be more than happy to discuss the policies further should you wish to.
I can be contacted at the number below.

Sincerely,
Anna
_______________________
Anna Lavin
Customer Service Manager
Megabus.com, LLC
349 1st Street
Elizabeth, NJ 07206
908-354-3330
Extension #301

 

8 responses to “UPDATED with Refund: The Megabus Saga Continues!

  1. Pingback: An Open Letter to Megabus – UPDATED With Contact! « The Kevin Talbot Experience·

  2. Pingback: Tales From The Crypt? | The Kevin Talbot Experience·

  3. Pingback: Nugent Countdown, Criminal Cosplay & More Insanity | The Kevin Talbot Experience·

  4. I do trust all the ideas you’ve introduced on your post.
    They are really convincing and will certainly work.
    Nonetheless, the posts are very quick for starters. May just you please prolong them a bit from next time?
    Thank you for the post.

  5. What i do not understood is in fact how you’re no longer really much more smartly-appreciated than
    you may be now. You’re very intelligent. You realize thus
    significantly relating to this subject, made me for my part imagine it from numerous
    various angles. Its like men and women are not interested until it is something to do with Woman gaga!
    Your own stuffs great. At all times take care of it up!

  6. Megabus was two hours late on July 6, 2014 from Memphis to Dallas, Tx. Customer service stated that we would be getting a refund with 3 to 5 business days. This is the third business day. No refund yet.

  7. Show your intentions- Your main objective at this point
    should be to offer complete fulfillment. Check your personal clothes as nicely as your dog’s belt,
    leash, or body belt. Immediate medical attention demands for this
    problem.

Leave a Reply

